Lewisham Southwark College Board

The Lewisham Southwark College Board provides non-executive oversight at a local level.  Members of the College Board work in collaboration with the leadership team to ensure the quality and effectiveness of provision that is offered to learners within the area.

The Lewisham Southwark College Board will normally meet six times each year.

College board

aliAli Perotto
Staff Member

Ali has been a course tutor at Lewisham Southwark College for over ten years. Having had a rather patchy record at school, she is proud and grateful for the chances that Further Education has given her and has great belief and a strong loyalty to the sector. Her professional experience has included careers in publishing and the performing arts before training as a teacher at Lewisham Southwark College. Ali was appointed to the Board as Staff Governor in December 2015.

Ade Adebambo

Ade Adebambo is a qualified accountant with a post graduate qualification in Corporate Administration and Masters Degree in Business Administration (MBA) from Manchester Business School. He is also a member of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators. Ade is currently the Chief Executive of the Local Accountancy Project, an organisation that works with Community and Voluntary Sector organisations across London especially in the five South London boroughs of Bexley, Greenwich, Bromley, Lewisham and Southwark providing training and support in Accountancy and financial management. Ade has a wealth of experience having worked in education, commerce and industry. He has held many positions as trustees and treasurers of many community and voluntary sector organisations for almost 30 years. Ade joined the college in 2010 and has served on Audit, Human Resources and Estate Strategy Project Board.

Dr Elaine Hawkins

Dr. Elaine Hawkins has been a Governor since December 2014. Elaine is a consultant health advisor to NHS Trusts in Kent, Surrey and Sussex. She is also a member of the GMC’s Health Advisory Group contributing to curriculum planning. Until April 2014, Elaine was Assistant Dean, Education at the University of London, from which she was seconded to Kent, Surrey and Susses Postgraduate Education Medical Education Deanery.

Hilary Moore

Hilary is an elected member of Lewisham Borough Council, the Mayor’s FE Advisor and Chair of the Children & Young People Select Committee. Formerly a lawyer and then working in marketing, she trained as a teacher in 1994 and her current role is as Head of the Technical Skills Academy, catering for 16-18 year olds, a part of Barking & Dagenham College. Hilary is also a Governor at Baring Primary school where she has been such since 1998. Hilary has been a Governor of the College since December 2014.

Lekhnath Pandey

Leknath, a Chartered Accountant, is an entrepreneur operating local businesses including accountancy practices, restaurants and a security training institute since 2002. He has gained invaluable experience working with Save the Children HQ as financial consultant for 8 years. Prior to that he worked as a Finance Manager in multi-national companies. He holds the role of non-executive Director in a local community interest company (CIC) dealing with representatives from local government and is an advisor for a few local charities and community organisations.

Nigel Peet

Nigel has 35 years’ experience in education at all levels, much of that time in senior positions. He has always been at the forefront of new developments and applications. Nigel was most recently responsible for project managing a new campus development, which is environmentally sustainable. Nigel has been a Governor since December 2014 and is Chair of the Estates Strategy Project Board.

Kate Shoesmith

Kate has worked in the skills and employment field for over ten years, having worked her way up to Head of Policy and Corporate Affairs at City and Guilds. She joined the Recruitment and Employment Confederation as Head of Policy and Public Affairs in March 2013. Kate is the Link Governor for English and maths and is the chair of the Quality Improvement Board.

David Wilson

David Wilson is a Civil Servant, having worked in senior roles at the Department for Business, Innovation and Sport (BIS) for over five years. David has held the roles of Deputy Director, Enterprise Policy and Strategy, Deputy Director, Science and Innovation Benchmarking Project and Deputy Director, International Knowledge and Innovation Unit.

Johnson Situ

Johnson is an elected member of London Borough of Southwark and cabinet member for Employment, Business & Culture with responsibility for promoting business growth and employment across Southwark. Alongside that he has the responsibility for developing arts and culture in the borough, including museums, heritage and libraries. Johnson Situ was elected as a Councillor in Peckham ward in May 2014. Prior to joining the cabinet he worked for an international development charity. Johnson has been a Governor of the College since October 2016.

john litchfieldJohn Litchfield

John Litchfield has worked in the financial sector for over 40 years, most of that time based in the CIty of London. John currently sits on the board and investment committee of Throgmorton Private capital Ltd, a Kent based firm of financial advisers.

John served as a trustee for 6 years and was Vice-Chair of the MS Society and continues to work in the charity sector. Six years ago John was a co-founder of Redstart Arts, a Deptford base group running art workshops for supported learners with a view to enhancing their life skills and opportunities.

John has been a governor for 8 years.

The College Board has occasional vacancies for governors.  If you are interested in the role of governor, please contact Trish Dodds, Interim Clerk to College Board' This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Enquire Now

Please tell us your name
Please enter a valid email address
Invalid Input
Please enter an enquiry